Form Center

By signing in or creating an account, some fields will auto-populate with your information and your submitted forms will be saved and accessible to you.

Grand County Justice Court - NO INSURANCE

  1. GRAND COUNTY JUSTICE COURT

    125 E. Center St. - Moab, UT 84532

  2. NO INSURANCE

    41-12A-302 Operating a Motor Vehicle Without Owner's or Operator’s Security (Insurance) – Penalty:

  3. (1) Any owner of a motor vehicle on which owner's or operator’s security (insurance) is required under Section 41-12a-301 , who operates the owner’s vehicle or permits it to be operated on a highway in this state without owner’s security (insurance) being in effect is guilty of a Class C Misdemeanor, and the fine shall not be less than:

    (a) $410.00 for a first offense
    (b) $1,010.00 for a second and subsequent offense within three years of a previous conviction or bail forfeiture.


    (2) (a) Any person who operates a motor vehicle upon a highway in Utah with the knowledge that the owner does not have owner's security (insurance) in effect for the motor vehicle is also guilty of a Class C Misdemeanor and the fine shall be not less than:

    (i) $410.00 for the first offense
    (ii) $1,010.00 for a second and subsequent offense within three years of a previous conviction or bail forfeiture.

    (b) A person that has in effect owner's security (insurance) on a Utah-registered motor vehicle or its equivalent that covers the operation, by the person, of the motor vehicle in question is exempt from this Subsection (2).

  4. NO PROOF OF INSURANCE

    41-12a-303.2 Evidence of Owner's or Operator's Security to be Carried when Operating Motor Vehicle: A person operating a motor vehicle shall: (1) have in the person’s immediate possession evidence of owner’s or operator’s security for the motor vehicle the person is operating; and (2) display it upon demand of a peace officer.

  5. 41-12a-302(6) UPON RECEIVING NOTIFICATION FROM A COURT OF CONVICTION FOR A VIOLATION OF EITHER OF THESE SECTIONS, THE DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLE:

    (A) shall suspend the persons driver license: and
    (B) may not renew the person's driver license or issue a driver's license to the person until the person gives the department proof of owner's or operator's security (insurance).
    (C) This proof of owner's security shall be maintained with the department for a three-year period.

  6. By signing below you agree that you have read and understood the above information.

  7. Leave This Blank:

  8. This field is not part of the form submission.