Form Center

By signing in or creating an account, some fields will auto-populate with your information and your submitted forms will be saved and accessible to you.

Grand County Justice Court - POSSESSION OF CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE

  1. GRAND COUNTY JUSTICE COURT

    125 E. Center St. - Moab, UT 84532

  2. POSSESSION OF CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE

  3. ELEMENTS

    It is unlawful for any person knowingly and intentionally to possess or use a controlled substance, unless it was obtained under a valid prescription or order, directly from a practitioner while acting within the professional's practice. Controlled substance is a drug or substance so designated by law.

  4. PENALTY

    Any person who violates the law explained above is guilty of a class B misdemeanor. The maximum penalty for a class B Misdemeanor is:
    (1) 180 days in jail and/or
    (2) Fines and assessments of $1000.00. plus, surcharges

  5. PENALTY ENHANCEMENTS

    Utah Statue 58-37-8(2)(d) — Upon a third conviction the person is guilty of a Class A Misdemeanor and upon a fourth or subsequent conviction the person is guilty of a Third Degree Felony; and if each prior offense was committed within seven years before the date of the current conviction or the date of the offense upon which the current conviction is based.

  6. DRIVER'S LICENSE INFORMATION

    UTAH STATUE 53-3-220 states that the Department of Motor Vehicles shall immediately suspend for 6 months the license of a person upon receiving a record of conviction for any of the following offenses:
    (A) Title 58, Chapter 37, Utah Controlled Substance Act:
    (B) 37a, Chapter 37, Utah Drug Paraphernalia Act.

  7. By signing below you agree that you have read and understood the above information.

  8. Leave This Blank:

  9. This field is not part of the form submission.